View Cart

Richmond Fontaine - The High Country

An operatically tragic tale is told in Richmond Fontaine’s tenth studio album, The High Country. More than a concept piece, the Portland, Oregon four-piece have crafted a song-novel, in which a gripping tale is spun with fully fleshed-out characters, changing scenes, snippets of radio and spoken word passages. It's a spectacularly unique album housed in a digi-pack with full 8 page colour booklet
This album sees Fontaine's musical trajectory soar far beyond their cowpunk roots, ably assisted by producer John Askew (The Dodos, Karl Blau).
1. Inventory (A Confession at Arlene’s Paperback Exchange)
2. The Girl on the Logging Road
3 The Chainsaw Sea
4 Let Me Dream of the High Country
5 The Mechanic and the Girl
6 The Mechanic’s Life (It Ain’t Always Wrong to Give up and Run)
7 Angus King Tries to Leave the House
8 Meeting on the Logging Road
9 Claude Murray Breaks Down
10 The Eagles Lodge
11 Driving Back to the Chainsaw Sea
12 Lost In the Trees (Featured on KSAW logging radio)
13 On a Spree
14 I Can See A Room
15 Deciding to Run
16 The Escape
17 Leaving